Radio26.Cu – Matanzas, Cuba


Heavy duels at the beginning of the semifinal stage of the Cuban Baseball Championship.

Tamara Caridad Mesa González 2 enero, 2019

The four sets classified for the Play Off of the National Series number 58th, Las Tunas, Sancti Spíritus, Villa Clara and Ciego de Ávila announced their starting pitchers for the clashes this Friday, January 4, which will have the Julio Antonio Mella parks as the stage, from the capital of Las Tunas and José Antonio Huelga, from the land of the Yayabo.


The director of the Lumberjacks of Las Tunas, Pablo Civil, opted for the important first semifinal match against Ciego de Ávila by Yoannis Yera, who has already accumulated several decisive seasons with the Matanzas team, while Roger Machado, the Tigres’ helmsman, pointed out his star, the Granmense Lázaro Blanco.

This will be a very interesting match because of the strong offensive accumulated by both teams, which will be opposed by those considered top figures of the national team, Yera as left-handed and Blanco, right.

In the other meeting between Sancti Spiritus and Villa Clara, the director of the premises, José Raúl Delgado, selected to open the reinforcement of Camaguey Yanier Rodríguez, while the owner of theVilla Clara sugar producers, Eduardo Paret, will take the box to the experienced Freddy Asiel Álvarez, in search of his 100th triumph for life in the National Series.

There is no noticeable superiority among the contenders, after the last three reinforcements uploaded to their payrolls, although many specialists consider the Lumberjacks as favorites due to the strength now of its body of launchers that joined, in addition to Yera, Pinar del Rio Erlis Casanova and rounded up defense and offense at first base Guillermo Aviles, of Granma.

Las Tunas is one of the few teams that has never won a national contest, while its rivals have achieved it three times. The Tunas team fans will be a very important point of support for that purpose.

In the case of Villa Clara accumulates in its showcases five championships and its rival neighbors, Sancti Spíritus, boasts only one, reached in the already distant National Series XVIII, from 1978 to 1979.


Leave a Comment

Login to your account

Can't remember your Password ?

Register for this site!